| Read Time: 3 minutes
Attorney Portrait Accident Reports

How to Get Your Free Huntsville, AL Accident Report

Accident reports in Huntsville, AL, are officially titled “Alabama Uniform Crash Reports.” Police use Huntsville police department accident reports to report the details of a car accident and store helpful information about the parties involved in an accident. The police officer reporting to the scene records these details in the Huntsville police reports. A personal injury attorney can help you obtain your Huntsville, AL police accident reports if you file a lawsuit related to your car accident.  Ways to Obtain Your Accident Report From Huntsville Police Department There are two ways to obtain your accident report after a crash. Option one is to head to the Lexis Nexis website and purchase a copy of your report. This option costs $18.00 and once select the jurisdiction where the crash happened and the correct police department, you will need to enter only one of the following, the crash report number, the name of a driver, and the date on the date the accident took place; or the last name of a driver and the street name they live on.  The second option is to request a copy of your report in person from the Records Division. This option costs $10.00 and you will need to provide a valid ID, the accident number, and the date and location of the accident. For more information about this option, call (256) 427-7020. The business hours to get a copy of your accident report both from online and the Record Division is Monday – Friday, 7 a.m. 6 p. m. Car Accident Reports Outside of Huntsville, Alabama If you were in a car accident that occurred inside or outside the jurisdiction of the Huntsville, Alabama police department, you will most likely be able to download your Alabama accident report through the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency’s website: Crash Report Request Page To download your car crash report, you will need to provide your ALEA case number or the last name of a driver in the crash and their driver’s license number. Copies of crash reports cost $15 each. If you pay by credit card you will also be charged a credit card processing fee. Information Provided  Alabama law requires that individuals file their Huntsville, AL police accident reports in the following circumstances:  If anyone is hurt or killed in the accident, If there is more than $250 in damage due to the accident.  A police officer reporting to the scene of an accident understands whether a Huntsville accident report may be required.  You may wonder what accident reports in Huntsville, AL, provide. Your Huntsville, AL police accident report offers necessary information regarding your car accident. These details include the date, time, and place of the car accident. Additionally, the accident report provides contact information and statements from drivers, witnesses, and passengers. The report may also furnish details regarding injuries suffered at the scene of the accident and property damage to vehicles and other property.  How Is a Huntsville Car Accident Report Useful? If you file a lawsuit for injuries or damage resulting from a car accident, obtaining a copy of your Huntsville police department accident report may be a valuable tool for your attorney. Call Us About the Accident Reach out to Fob James to work on getting the Huntsville accident report for you! Request Your Accident Report Your attorney may use your accident report when negotiating with insurance companies or the attorney representing the other party in your lawsuit.  A police officer creates the accident report with an unbiased view of the details surrounding the accident. Therefore, these details may make it more difficult for another party to dispute the accident’s facts. Additionally, your car accident attorney may obtain witnesses’ contact information to assist in building a solid case on your behalf.  Contact Us  After suffering a car accident, you may be wondering how best to obtain information surrounding what happened. Details and memories fade over time. If you’ve suffered a significant injury or trauma after your car accident, you may not remember anything surrounding your car accident. Therefore, obtaining a copy of accident reports in Huntsville, AL, reflecting your accident’s details helps your attorney build your case. At the Fob James Law Firm we focus on personal injury cases, including car accidents. We provide our clients with fast and aggressive litigation. We limit our caseloads to provide focused attention to all clients. Contact our office today for a free case review of how we can help you!

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 5 minutes
Attorney Portrait Articles

What to Do After a Car Accident in Birmingham, AL

A car accident is a stressful ordeal. After your accident, you may be hurt, unable to work, and struggling with insurance companies. Trying to get the compensation you need while dealing with your injuries can feel overwhelming. However, you don’t have to fight the insurance company on your own. If you’re not sure what to do after a car accident in Alabama, a skilled accident attorney can help. At Fob James Law Firm, we help car accident victims pursue the compensation they deserve. Alabama Car Accident Checklist After an Alabama car accident, you should take action to improve your compensation potential. This Alabama car accident checklist provides important steps for what to do after a car accident: Activate your emergency flashers; Call 911 to request police and medical assistance; Do not leave the scene of the accident, but move to a safe place; Take photos of damage to the cars; Take photos of the scene surrounding the accident; Get the names and contact numbers of witnesses to the accident; Exchange driver license and insurance information with the other driver; Provide the police with your contact information, driver license, and insurance card; Seek medical treatment; File an SR-31 form at the Department of Public Safety within 30 days of the accident; and Request a copy of the accident report from the police department or online after the accident. By collecting photos, medical records, and the accident report, you have crucial evidence to support your accident claim. This evidence can prove to be far more valuable than conflicting word-of-mouth statements from drivers and witnesses. What to Consider When Speaking to the Insurance Company Soon after your accident, you should contact your insurance company and the other driver’s insurance company. Then an insurance company representative will likely contact you for a statement. Whenever you speak to an insurance company about the accident, show caution.  Speak Cautiously Be aware that these professionals sound kind and caring, but their job requires them to put insurance company profits first. That means that the insurer may ask you questions designed to trick you or get you to admit fault for the accident. Get Legal Advice   It’s best to speak to an accident attorney before talking to the insurer or giving a statement. You can object to giving a recorded statement, signing a medical release, or accepting a settlement until you speak to an attorney. How to Report the Car Accident After the car accident, you should call the police. When the police respond to the accident, they will create an accident report and should give you necessary forms to file.  File an SR-13 Form When they arrive at the accident scene, the police should give you an SR-13 form if needed. You should file an SR-13 form if the accident caused: Death;  Personal injury; or  Property damage of more than $250 to any one owner. You must file this form with the Department of Public Safety (DPS) within 30 days of your accident, even if you were not at fault. You can have your driver license suspended for failing to file this form, so make sure to submit it. If you don’t have all the information to complete the form, provide the details you know. Report to the Insurance Company You should also report the accident to your insurance company and the other driver’s insurance company. Insurance companies often limit the available reporting time for an accident, so contact them soon after your crash. Steps to Filing an Injury Claim If you were hurt in an Alabama car accident, you may need to file a personal injury claim to get appropriate compensation. File a personal injury claim by taking these steps. Seek Medical Attention  Immediately seek medical treatment for your injuries. Delaying treatment could not only lead to delayed healing, but it could also jeopardize your personal injury claim. That’s because an insurer might say that you were hurt after the accident or that your injury isn’t severe. Prompt evaluation gives you valuable medical reports to support your claim. Collect Accident Evidence  Accident evidence is crucial to supporting your personal injury claim and getting you fair compensation. Collect relevant accident evidence, including photographs, witness statements, medical reports, medical bills, and car repair receipts. When you hire an attorney, the law firm’s investigators will work with you to collect additional information that can boost your claim. How Hiring an Experienced Car Accident Attorney Can Help Some people try to negotiate with insurance companies on their own, but that’s usually not the best strategy. The insurance company might try to pay you less than you deserve. If you feel confused about what to do after a car accident, an experienced attorney can help. Negotiates with insurance companies A car accident attorney knows how insurance companies work, creating an even playing field for resolving your claim. A skilled attorney will pressure the insurance company to give you the money you need for accident damages. Works on contingency Most reputable car accident attorneys work on contingency, meaning you don’t have to come up with an upfront payment to hire the attorney. When the attorney settles or wins your case, you pay them out of your compensation. If the attorney loses your case, you pay nothing. Offers a free case review An attorney should also offer a free consultation, so you have the opportunity to meet them and ask questions before hiring them. At the consultation, ask the attorney about their experience with car accident cases and get details on their fee structure. Make sure to hire an attorney who seems trustworthy, knowledgeable, and skilled at communicating with clients. Attempt to Reach a Settlement Your attorney will calculate accident damages based on the evidence of your injuries. They will send this damages total to the insurer as a settlement request. Then your attorney and the insurer will negotiate to reach an acceptable settlement. You will have the final say in accepting or rejecting a settlement. Go to Trial If you cannot reach...

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 2 minutes
Attorney Portrait Accident Reports

How to Get a Mobile, AL Accident Report

Anyone involved in a car accident understands that remembering every detail surrounding your accident can be a difficult task. However, in Mobile, AL, accident reports provide multiple benefits for parties involved.  Methods to Obtain Car Accident Reports in Mobile, Alabama For an accident occurring in Mobile, AL, you may obtain a police report in a few different ways. Your personal injury attorney may help you obtain a copy of your Mobile accident police reports through these methods.  Request Online  The Mobile police department provides an option for individuals to obtain Mobile police reports online. In these situations, head to the Mobile police department website and enter your case number and other requested information. The Mobile police department charges $10 for all accident reports in Mobile, AL. If you do not recall your case number, the other identifying information that may be provided is the car accident’s exact location. The Mobile police department accepts all major credit cards for online purchases. The police department then emails accident reports to you within 48 hours of your initial request. If additional information may be required, the Mobile Police Department contacts you for that additional information.  Request By Mail  You can also obtain a copy of your Mobile, AL accident police reports by mail. Mail your request along with payment in the form of a check to the  Mobile Police Department Records2460 Government Blvd.Mobile, AL 36606 The Mobile Police Department receives approximately 6,000 requests for information, such as Mobile police accident reports, each month.  Download from the State of Alabama’s Website If you were in a car accident that occurred inside or outside the jurisdiction of the Mobile police department, you will most likely be able to download your Alabama accident report through the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency’s website: Crash Report Request Page To download your car crash report, you will need to provide your ALEA case number or the last name of a driver in the crash and their driver’s license number. Copies of crash reports cost $15 each. If you pay by credit card you will also be charged a credit card processing fee. Why Are Mobile, AL Accident Reports Important?  A Mobile police accident report represents a vital form of information after a car accident. Mobile, AL police accident reports provide the following data: Date, time, and location of the crash; Whether the crash was fatal; Driver information, including name, address, phone number, driver license, and insurance information; Vehicle information; Whether there was property damage; Arrests or citations issued by a police officer;  Passenger, injury, and fatality information; A written narrative of how the crash likely occurred;  A drawn diagram of how the collision occurred; and Witnesses’ names and contact information.  Investigations by police typically represent unbiased observations of a car accident. Therefore, the Mobile police accident report serves as a vital piece of information for your personal injury attorney. The details provided within the report assist a personal injury attorney in building a case for negligence on your behalf and arguing fault in your car accident.  Contact Us  The Fob James Law Firm specializes in personal injury lawsuits like car accidents. We understand the importance of building a solid case for our clients, and obtaining a copy of your accident report in Mobile, AL, is a vital first step toward that goal. We take client services to the next level by providing fast and aggressive litigation. We limit our caseload to deepen a focus on our client needs. Contact our office today for a free case review of your car accident. Get started on the road to recovery with Fob James Law Firm! 

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 2 minutes
Attorney Portrait Articles

Liberty Mutual: Report a Claim

After an accident, knowing what to do next can feel overwhelming.  Between injuries and property damage, the cost of recovery can become expensive. Of course, if you have insurance coverage, this can help you obtain valuable compensation. However, it is no secret that insurance companies don’t always have your best interests in mind.  Filing a claim after you have been involved in an accident can be an extremely complicated process on its own. But to make matters even more complicated, it can be devastating when the insurance company refuses to cover your damages. That is why having an experienced attorney in your corner can be invaluable.  If you have questions about Liberty Mutual and reporting a claim, we want to help. Our team of personal injury attorneys has extensive experience helping accident victims get the compensation they need to recover. Give the Fob James Law Firm a call today to discuss your case and see what we can do for you.  How to File Liberty Insurance Claims If you are involved in an accident that results in property damage or injury, you should consider contacting Liberty Mutual to report a claim. But where do you start?  The Liberty Mutual claims department provides a variety of ways to file a claim. You can file through their website with your login and password, through your smartphone, or by calling one of the Liberty Mutual claims department agents at 1-844-525-2467. Liberty Mutual Insurance provides coverage for vehicles, homes, and rentals, but auto insurance claims are the most common. Liberty insurance claims can include: Personal injury claims, Property damage claims, and Long-term or permanent disability claims. If you need assistance getting started, our accident attorneys would be happy to help you navigate the process.  What Do I Need to Provide to Liberty Mutual to File a Claim? Like most insurance companies, Liberty Mutual’s goal is to pay out as little as possible on your claim. In fact, it will often fall on the accident victim to prove that he or she is fully entitled to collect on their insurance policy. Thus, it is imperative to gather as much information as possible to help bolster your claim.  Examples of information you may want to provide to Liberty Mutual to report a claim include:  A formal police report; Medical bills; Photographs or videos of the accident scene; Contact information for other parties involved in the accident; Witness statements; and Witness contact information. Since the insurance company’s goal is to pay you as little as possible, it is crucial to build a strong case for why you are entitled to collect. An experienced accident attorney can help you identify and gather relevant evidence to use in pursuing your Liberty insurance claims.  Our Attorneys Can Help You with Your Liberty Insurance Claims Contacting Liberty Mutual to report a claim can be complicated. However, having an attorney can make the process feel more manageable.  If you are in the process of pursuing an insurance claim with the Liberty Mutual claims department, the Fob James Law Firm is here to help. Our attorneys can help you gather important evidence and information, negotiate with Liberty Mutual, and navigate the claims process from beginning to end. Contact us today for a free case review and begin the process toward recovery. 

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 2 minutes
Attorney Portrait Auto Accidents

Do I Need to Hire a Whiplash Injury Lawyer After a Car Accident?

Whiplash is one of the most common types of car accident injuries. Whiplash can be very painful, and you may have expensive medical bills. You might also have to miss work while you rest and recover. If you are considering filing a personal injury lawsuit against the driver who is responsible for your accident, hiring a whiplash lawyer can be a good idea. How Do I Know If I Have Whiplash? In a car accident, your body may experience sudden changes in direction or speed of motion. This is especially true if your vehicle was traveling at a high speed and either crashed or had to stop suddenly to avoid a collision. These sudden changes in motion can strain muscles like the ones in your neck. The resulting condition, called whiplash, usually causes pain and discomfort. If you are experiencing pain after a car accident, you should seek medical treatment as soon as possible. A doctor will be able to correctly diagnose your injuries and recommend effective treatment. In addition, if you later decide to consult a whiplash injury lawyer, having doctor’s records can help you build a stronger case. Should I Hire a Lawyer? In general, if you are thinking about filing a suit against the other driver who was involved in your car accident, you should consider hiring a whiplash attorney. Most lawsuits settle before the parties have to go to trial. However, just because you are unlikely to end up pleading your own case in front of a jury does not mean you do not need a lawyer. A good personal injury lawyer is familiar with the law in your state and how it applies to your case. They will know whether the facts of your situation and the available evidence create a strong case against the other driver. Knowing that you have a strong case will allow your lawyer to negotiate a higher settlement offer.  Dealing with Insurance Companies You may not want to file a lawsuit against the driver who was responsible for your accident. Or perhaps you were involved in a hit-and-run and do not know the identity of the other party. Whatever the reason, you might decide to file a claim with your insurance company instead of pursuing a lawsuit. Your insurance adjuster may try to reduce the amount of your claim to save the company money. It is important to remember that the adjuster works for the insurance company and not for you. Your adjuster might call you to get a statement about your injuries soon after the accident. You may not yet know the full extent of your injuries and medical expenses at this point, and any statement you give the adjuster is likely to underestimate your damages. The insurance company can then reduce the value of your claim based on your statement. A skilled whiplash lawyer will be aware of this and other insurance company tactics for trying to limit your settlement. Hiring a lawyer to negotiate with your insurance company means you are more likely to get the compensation you deserve. Call the Fob James Law Firm The whiplash lawyers at Fob James are ready to take your call. Our firm does not shy away from litigation, and we will negotiate aggressively to get you the maximum possible settlement. We combine first-rate representation with unparalleled client service by managing our caseload so we can focus on you. If you sustained whiplash injuries in a car accident, call our office today.

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 2 minutes
Attorney Portrait Accident Reports

How To Get Your Anniston, AL Accident Report

If you were recently in a car accident in Anniston, Alabama, you may be wondering how to get an accident report. Accident reports can be useful if you intend to file a lawsuit or an insurance claim. There are several different ways to obtain a copy of your Anniston, Alabama car accident report. Get Your Anniston, Alabama Accident Report Online You can follow the link on the Anniston Police Annual Reports webpage to get a copy of your Anniston, AL car accident report. You will need to enter a case number to identify the report. If you are requesting a report shortly after your accident occurred, you may not know the case number. If this is the case, you may be able to enter the date or location of the accident instead to locate your report. A fee is charged for each report you order online. Someone from the police department may contact you for more information after your online request. Obtain a Report in Person You can go to the Anniston Police Department in person to get a copy of your accident report. This option should probably be your last resort during the COVID-19 pandemic, and you may want to call ahead to see whether the records department is operating. You should bring some form of identification, such as your driver license. It will also be helpful if you know as much information about your accident as possible. You may need to answer questions about the date, time, and location of your accident as well as who else was involved. Other Options The State of Alabama also offers several methods that you can use to request Anniston accident reports. You can access a copy of your crash report by going to a Driver License Reinstatement Office. You can also request a copy by mail from the Department of Public Safety or by phone at 334-242-4241. Making a request through the state record agency costs $15. Talk to an Attorney If you are thinking about requesting a copy of your Anniston, AL car accident report, you should talk to an attorney. Not only will an experienced personal injury lawyer know how to efficiently request an accident report, they will also know whether it is necessary to obtain a copy of the report. An attorney will be able to discuss the specific details of your case with you and advise you on how to proceed. If you have a strong enough case to bring a lawsuit against the driver who is responsible for your accident, getting a copy of your Anniston, AL accident report is a good first step toward gathering evidence to support your case. The lawyers at the Fob James Law Firm are ready to answer all your questions. We always keep our case load under control so that we can devote our full energy and attention to your case. With a team of aggressive litigators and unparalleled client service, the Fob James Law Firm can maximize your car accident settlement. Call our office today.

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 3 minutes
Attorney Portrait Articles

Personal Injury Depositions—Questions to Prepare For

So you’ve started the process of pursuing a personal injury claim, and now it’s time for your deposition. But what exactly is a deposition? And how should you prepare?  Depositions are an extremely important part of a personal injury lawsuit, as they are crucial to the information gathering process. Because depositions are so important, parties often feel nervous or overwhelmed wondering what personal injury deposition questions they may be asked. Fortunately, there are ways to prepare.  If you have questions about how to prepare for deposition questions in a personal injury case, contact the Fob James Law Firm today. Our knowledgeable personal injury attorneys have extensive experience litigating personal injury cases from start to finish, part of which includes taking and preparing our clients for depositions. Give us a call today at 205-407-6009 to discuss your case and see what we can do to help you prepare.  What Is a Deposition? A deposition occurs during the discovery process of a civil lawsuit.  The purpose of a deposition, and the discovery process in general, is to gain information about the case and find potential sources for evidence.  Depositions are done in an oral question-and-answer format. At a deposition, a lawyer will ask questions of the person being deposed, or the deponent. The deponent must answer the questions under oath, as they would at trial. Further, a deposition usually takes place with a court reporter present who will create a written record of the deposition. This deposition transcript can be extremely useful as you move forward in your case.  Depositions can be very stressful and time-consuming, sometimes lasting several days for a single deponent. However, this is a necessary part of building a strong case. Thus, it is important to feel as prepared as possible.  Sample Deposition Questions in Personal Injury Cases A question that many first-time deponents have before their first deposition is, Will there be sample deposition questions for a plaintiff to help them prepare?  Unfortunately, there is no set of standard sample deposition questions for personal injury cases. However, there are certain questions that are almost certain to come up.  As a preliminary matter, you will likely be asked questions about your personal background. Topics might include:  Name and contact information,  Educational background,  Health and medical background,  Employment status and background,  Criminal background, and  Whether you have ever been involved in a lawsuit or participated in a deposition before.  These types of questions will help set the scene. Next, you will dive into more substantive matters regarding the events leading to your personal injury accident. For example, sample deposition questions in a personal injury case involving a car or trucking accident might include:   When did the accident occur?  Where did the accident occur?  How fast were you driving?  Were there any conditions present that impaired your driving?  You can never guess precisely what questions will come up. However, if your personal injury case arose out of a car accident, you can be certain that questions about the accident will come up. Thus, it is important to make sure you are prepared to answer questions about the accident that gave rise to your personal injury claim.  Contact a Personal Injury Attorney Today If you have never participated in a deposition before, the process might feel scary. Fortunately, our attorneys will do what we can to make sure you are as prepared as possible.  Sample deposition questions in personal injury cases can be a great way to help you prepare. Our team can help you get the practice you need to feel comfortable and at ease. The personal injury attorneys at Fob James Law Firm are aggressive litigators with extensive experience navigating the personal injury claims process. When you work with us, you can feel confident knowing you will be in great hands. Contact us today for a free case review, and see what we can do for you.

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 2 minutes
Attorney Portrait Wrongful Death

How Wrongful Death Attorney Fees Work

After a loved one’s death, you will likely experience many emotions and stresses. If your loved one has passed away due to another’s actions or negligence, you may consider seeking legal help. It is essential to understand attorney fees and how they work for wrongful death cases. If you believe you have a wrongful death claim, Fob James Law Firm is here to help. What Are Attorney Fees? Attorneys provide a service, and their services come with fees. While there are no average lawyers fees, every attorney has different fees, and the way they collect these fees can depend on the type of case. Some attorneys require a deposit or retainer, and their fees depend on how many hours they spend working on your case. Other attorneys work on a contingency fee basis. When consulting with your attorney about a possible case, it is important to discuss fees. An honest discussion can give you a better idea of what you can expect.  What Is Wrongful Death? A wrongful death lawsuit typically arises when a loved one dies at the hands of another. The defendant in a wrongful death case has caused a death, whether through negligence or intentional actions. The deceased person’s family or estate can file a wrongful death lawsuit to recover for the death. Wrongful Death Attorney Contingency Fees Generally, wrongful death attorneys work on a contingency fee basis. This means that you do not pay your attorney while they work on your case. Instead, your attorney will receive a payment if they win your case and recover on your behalf.  There are no average attorney fees for wrongful death cases. The amount your attorney receives after your case will depend on the percentage they charge and the amount of damages recovered. Wrongful death attorneys typically receive 33-40% of a settlement.  Contingency fees are beneficial to clients because many cannot pay massive upfront costs or monthly fees. Many potential clients refrain from filing claims because they believe they do not have the required funds to do so.  If you believe you have a wrongful death claim, do not hesitate to contact an attorney as soon as possible. Benefits of Having a Wrongful Death Lawyer Wrongful death cases can be challenging and confusing to handle. Add in the sadness a loved one’s family usually experiences, and a wrongful death claim can seem almost impossible to bear. Fortunately, a wrongful death attorney gives you peace of mind and the time to grieve, saving you from the frustrations of a lawsuit.  A lawyer handles every responsibility associated with a wrongful death lawsuit, including: Thoroughly investigating the claim; Collecting evidence; Interviewing witnesses and experts; Communicating with the opposing party; Calculating damages;  Settlement negotiations; and Trial, if necessary. A wrongful death attorney gives you the best chance at just compensation. Consult with a Wrongful Death Attorney Today Fob James Law Firm has over four decades of experience representing clients wronged by others. We understand the trying times a wrongful death can bring and don’t want clients to go through it alone. Our firm provides aggressive representation while we fight to protect your rights and work toward fair compensation. We offer free case reviews. Contact us today, and let’s see how we can help you.

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 2 minutes
Attorney Portrait Auto Accidents

How to File a Diminished Value Claim in Alabama

It’s no secret your car loses value the longer you drive it. Unfortunately, after a car accident, your vehicle will be worth even less than usual. If your vehicle sustained damages after a collision, you may be able to file a diminished value claim to recover compensation. Please don’t hesitate to give us a call at (205) 407-6009 or send us a message for help. What Is a Diminished Value Claim in Alabama? A diminished value claim allows you to collect damages for your vehicle if it was damaged and its value has decreased. There are three types of diminished value: Immediate: the difference in your vehicle’s value before the accident and after the repairs; Inherent: the most common type, pertaining to the loss of value simply due to the collision; and Repair-related: the value lost from poor repair work following a car accident. When it comes time to trade in or sell your vehicle, it is likely to be challenging. Nowadays, it’s impossible to hide a car’s previous history. Your auto accident will undoubtedly be revealed, along with the repairs, and the vehicle will be worth much less. Even if the car is perfectly repaired and looks like new, the fact that it was involved in a collision remains.  How to File a Diminished Value Claim in Alabama Alabama is one of few states that allow drivers to file diminished value claims. The statute of limitations for diminished value claims in Alabama is six years from the date of the accident. Diminished value claims are brought against the at-fault driver or their insurance company. You may file a diminished value claim in Alabama unless: You were at fault for the accident; The damage was due to something other than the auto collision; or You are an uninsured motorist.  An attorney can help you file your diminished value claim. They will contact the at-fault party and their insurance company, as well as calculate your vehicle’s value. Your attorney may consult with outside parties to accurately calculate the diminished value. After the at-fault party’s insurance company reviews your diminished value claim in Alabama, they will either deny the claim or offer a low settlement. In either situation, your attorney can communicate back and forth with the insurance company to reach a favorable outcome. Need help with your claim? Reach out to Fob James to help with your diminished claim in Alabama Contact Us Today How to Prove Diminished Value Proving the diminished value of your vehicle can be challenging. You can consult various resources to try to come up with a calculation, but every situation is different. Many factors go into proving diminished value, including: The accident itself; The damage your vehicle sustained; How old the car is; The make and model; and The current market. It is best to consult with an attorney to help prove the diminished value of your vehicle.  Contact an Alabama Car Accident Attorney Navigating a diminished value claim on your own can be quite the task. There is plenty that goes into these claims, but an Alabama car accident lawyer will know best how to handle it. They can help calculate the value of your diminished value claim and communicate with the insurance company to help reach just compensation. The Fob James Law Firm has over 40 years of experience helping clients after auto collisions. We have the knowledge and expertise to help you attain a favorable outcome. Contact us online or call our firm at (205) 407-6009 today, and let’s discuss your case. 

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 3 minutes
Attorney Portrait Dog Bite

Average Settlements for Dog Bite Claims in Alabama

Insurance companies and police departments track dog bite cases. It is clear that dog bites are not uncommon nor underestimated in importance. Alabama courts and insurance companies order payments and settlements to dog bite victims regularly. Do not underestimate the pain and suffering caused by dog bites. If a dog owned by another person has bitten and harmed you, seek legal representation. Your Alabama dog bite lawyer will file a dog bite claim, seek compensation for your injuries, and hold the dog owner accountable. Call our firm at (205) 407-6009 or contact us online for assistance. We offer free case evaluations. The Average Settlement from a Dog Bite in Alabama  The average settlement from a dog bite in Alabama is over $43,000 according to a national tracking of dog bite data. That being said, average dog bite settlements vary drastically since they depend on a number of factors. Alabama Dog Bite Laws Affecting Dog Bite Settlements Every state has laws allowing a person injured by a dog bite to seek justice under certain conditions. Section 3-6-1 of Alabama Statutes regulates dog bites in our state. This law says, in part, that if a dog bites or injures any person who is at a location where they have a legal right to be, the owner of the dog is responsible for the costs and perhaps even the trauma from the attack. However, the statute does not end there. Numerous Alabama court cases address dog bites and help interpret dog bite laws. When you hire an experienced dog bite attorney for your dog bite claim, they will evaluate all legal considerations. These may include: Finding out who owns the property where the bite occurred; Determining the legitimate owner of the dog and who controlled the dog at the time of the incident; Investigating whether the dog owner had previous knowledge of the animal’s dangerous nature; Analyzing trespass laws applicable to the case; Reviewing existing homeowners or renters insurance for the parties involved; and Determining the likelihood of a contributory negligence argument (an argument that the victim was one of the causes of the accident). The legal and insurance implications are elaborate. An attorney needs to hear your side of the story, then apply this information to those facts. The lawyers at Fob James Law Firm are ready to begin the process of helping you get the compensation you deserve. Injured by a dog? We offer free, no-obligation injury consultations Contact Us Today What to Do If You Are Bitten or Attacked by a Dog Here at Fob James Law Firm, we are concerned about the health, safety, and legal rights of citizens of our community. If a dog has bitten you or someone you love, please seek medical care. Medical attention is urgent if a stray dog bit you, you have multiple bites, or you are experiencing psychological trauma.  Also, report the incident to the police. You can call 911 or the non-emergency line if the situation is under control. Once you feel safe, contact us. You have a right to be compensated for your dog bite injuries. We want to help you. Please do not agree to settle your claim with the dog owner without first speaking with us. Our Alabama dog bite attorneys will investigate the reports and handle all settlement and legal actions so you get the compensation that you deserve. Contact Our Alabama Dog Bite Lawyers Today If you have been bitten or attacked by a dog, call our dog bite lawyers at Fob James Law Firm Today. Our practice focuses on personal injury cases in Alabama and Florida. We have significant experience in dog bite cases and traumatic injuries. We don’t use case managers. We focus on each client. When you hire us, we commit to giving you the highest level of legal representation. For a free case review, contact us today or call (205) 407-6009.

Continue Reading