Understandably, an auto accident can be a scary and traumatic experience. The legal process of pursuing a claim can be stressful, and you may not know what to do following a collision. One of the most important things you can do is obtain a copy of your Trussville, AL accident report.
This report will contain valuable information that can help support your claim for damages against the negligent party. If you need assistance following an injury accident, contact the Trussville auto accident lawyers at Fob James Law Firm for help.
How to Request Trussville Accident Reports
To obtain a Trussville car accident report, you will need to call or visit the Records Department in the Police Department Administration Building. You can contact them via telephone at 205-661-4000 or visit in person at 131 Main Street, Trussville, AL 35173.
The department is open from 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM Monday through Friday, except on holidays. Please note they are closed for lunch between noon and 1:00 PM Reports will not be available until at least three business days following the accident.
The cost of your report will vary based on the type of report you are getting. The fee schedule is as follows:
- State accident reports are $15 each;
- Private property accident reports are $10 each; and
- Incident reports are $10 each.
You can pay for your report using a debit card or a Visa or MasterCard credit card. The Trussville Police Department will accept cash or a check from an insurance company. They will not accept any personal checks. If you pay by credit card or debit card, they will add a 3% convenience fee to your total.
Requesting a Trussville Car Accident Report Online
The other option to obtain your accident report is to use the Crash Docs website by Carfax. This option is available for state and private property accident reports only. To search for reports online, you will need a reference or report number, the last name of an involved party, and the accident date.
Please note that it takes longer for reports to become available through the online system. It could be at least five to seven business days following the accident before you will find it in the system. The system will display the cost once you’ve input the information.
What Information You Need for a Trussville Accident Report
At a minimum, you need to have the date of the accident, a report or reference number, and the name of at least one involved party. If you don’t have a reference or report number, ensure you have other information that can help them track down the report. Other helpful things include:
- Vehicle license plate;
- Driver license number;
- Date and time of the accident; and
- Names of other involved parties in the accident.
In most cases, they will immediately find your report based on the reference number you provide. However, it’s always best to have more information handy just in case.
Car Accident Reports Outside of Trussville, Alabama
If you were in a car accident that occurred outside the jurisdiction of the Trussville Police Department, you will most likely be able to download your Alabama accident report through the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency’s website: Crash Report Request Page
To download your car crash report, you will need to provide one of the following: (i) your ALEA case number, (ii) the first and last name of a driver in the crash, or (iii) their driver’s license number.
Copies of crash reports cost $15 each. If you pay by credit card you will also be charged a credit card processing fee.
Contact a Trussville Auto Accident Lawyer Today
If you need assistance pursuing an injury claim, the experienced team of Trussville auto accident lawyers at the Fob James Law Firm can help. Let us put our years of experience with personal injury law to work for you. Contact our office today to learn more about how we can help you get the compensation you deserve following an injury collision in Trussville.